Manage spaces

In ALM Octane, there are different spaces, or contexts, within which you can work, depending on your permissions. This topic discusses how to manage spaces.

About spaces

Spaces are the contexts in which an ALM Octane user can work, depending on permissions.

Spaces are containers for workspaces. For details on workspaces, see Manage workspaces.

On-premises: Site admins can create spaces.

Space admins manage spaces. The space admin can associate workspaces to a space, define users, and set API access. For details on the space admin's capabilities, see Space admin.

Some entities are defined on the space level. These include users, API keys, and so on.

The space admin can create the following types of spaces: Isolated and shared.

Isolated spaces

The space admin can define users and API access.

Each workspace associated with an isolated space has its own set of data, which only admins for the workspace can customize.

The icon indicates the space is isolated, and when displayed next to an entity, indicates that the entity is not shared across workspaces.

Shared spaces

The space admin can define users and API access.

Additionally, the space admin can customize data to be shared across workspaces (Enterprise Edition).

Shared entities includes releases, user-defined fields, forms, and so on.

The icon indicates the space is shared, and when displayed next to an entity, indicates that the entity is shared across workspaces.

Some entities can be customized both for shared spaces (affecting all associated workspaces) and also for individual workspaces. Only the admin for workspaces can customize entities for their individual workspaces.

Shared spaces
Customizable for shared spaces only, affecting all associated workspaces Customizable for
all workspaces associated with a shared space, and also for individual workspaces
Customizable for individual workspaces only

Tip: For strategies for setting up your spaces and workspaces, see the space definition strategy white paper.

Back to top

View spaces for a site (on-premises)

The site admin can view all the spaces for the site. For details, see View spaces for a site.

Back to top

Create a space (on-premises)

The site admin can create spaces for the site. For details, see View spaces for a site.

Back to top

Edit settings for a space

Modify and customize settings for a space.

  1. In Settings , select Spaces and then select the space.

  2. Edit the space by adding users, and setting up API access.

    If the space is shared , you can also add releases, teams, UDFs, forms, workflow, and rules.

Back to top

Create workspaces

Space admins create workspaces. Admins for workspaces then manage the workspaces.

  1. In Settings , select Spaces, and navigate to the relevant space.

  2. Click Add Workspace in the left pane. Name the workspace, add a description, and assign an admin for the workspace.

    Workspace names are unique within a space.

  3. Assign an admin for the workspace, and workspace members. Assign other roles to users as necessary in the workspace. For details, see Assign or remove roles.

    Tip: If you need to edit the workspace settings, for example, to create releases, rules, and so on, assign these admin permissions to yourself.

Back to top

Delete workspaces

Deleting a workspace makes its data inaccessible. For example, any data from the workspace that appeared in a cross-workspace graph is no longer displayed. This operation cannot be undone.

Space admins can delete workspaces.

Every space has at least one active workspace. the default workspace. The original name of this workspace is default_workspace. It can be renamed but it cannot be deleted.

If the workspace you last accessed is deleted, you are redirected to the another one.

  1. In Settings -> Spaces, select the workspace and click .

  2. When prompted, give yourself administrative permissions for the workspace.

  3. When prompted, confirm that you do want to delete the workspace.

Manage users

User management includes adding users, including existing users to workspaces, adding roles to users, and so on.

  1. In Settings , depending on your permissions, click Site or Spaces.

  2. Select the Users tab.

  3. Add or edit users, depending on your role.

    Note: Roles can be customized. Roles and their permissions might be different for your organization.

    User management capability On-premises:
    Site admin
    Shared space admin
    Admins for workspaces
    Add users to the current context (site, space, or workspace). For details, see Assign roles and permissions.
    Add LDAP users to a space. For details, see Include LDAP users in ALM Octane (on-premises). On-premises:
    Add existing users from the space into the workspace. For details, see Include existing users into a workspace.
    Remove roles from a workspace user. For details, see Assign or remove roles.

    Choose the fields to display in the user list, sort the list, and export the list to Microsoft Excel.

    On-premises: Set user passwords.

    Assign additional roles to users. For details, see Assign to, or unassign roles from, existing users.

    Assign the site admin role to other users. For details, see Assign the site admin role to existing users (on-premises).
    Activate and deactivate users. For details, see Assign roles and permissions. On-premises: SaaS: SaaS:
    Delete a user. For details, see Delete a user.

Back to top

Manage storage

Available workspace storage is set on the space level, and not per workspace. This means the amount of total available workspace storage is shared between the workspaces in the space.

On-premises: Site admins can set the maximum size for storage per space with the STORAGE_MAX_SIZE configuration parameter. For details, see the information about setting the maximum size for storage (STORAGE_MAX_SIZE) in the ALM Octane Installation Guide.

Back to top

Upgrade spaces (on-premises)

The site admin can upgrade spaces for the site. For details, see Upgrade spaces.

Back to top

See a space's background jobs (on-premises)

Background jobs include processes that run after upgrading a space, among other activities. A space is only fully upgraded after all background jobs have completed. The site admin can check periodically to see when an upgraded space is ready.

For details, see See a space's background jobs.

Back to top

Next steps: