Duplicate and delete items

You can duplicate and delete items when needed.

Duplicate an item

You can duplicate the following entities: user stories, quality stories, requirements, defects, manual tests, Gherkin tests, and runs.

For example, duplicating is useful if you have a defect that needs to be fixed in multiple releases or versions.

To duplicate an item, do one of the following:

  • Right-click an entity and select Duplicate. The new entity is displayed at the top of the grid.

  • Click Duplicate in an entity's Details tab. You will automatically navigate to the details of the new entity.

The new entity is named Copy of <original entity name>. Its phase is New, and its creator is the user who duplicated the original entity.

The following table describes which elements are copied to the new entity and which are not:

Status Details
Copied

The following elements are copied to the duplicate item:

  • Common fields: this varies depending on the entity type. Note that user-defined fields (UDFs) are always copied.
  • Attachments

  • Tasks

Not copied

The following elements are not copied to the duplicate item:

  • Comments

  • History

  • Test runs and old versions

Tip: You can also duplicate a defect by copying it to a different workspace. For details, see Defects.

Back to top

Duplicate requirements

When you duplicate a requirement, the new requirement becomes a sibling of the original, and does not contain its descendant requirements.

Only requirement document items can be duplicated, you cannot duplicate a requirement folder.

Back to top

Duplicate runs

You can duplicate the following run types:

  • Manual runs
  • Automated runs (AR) or Gherkin runs (GR) that are part of a suite run

Note: Suite runs cannot be duplicated.

To duplicate a run:

  1. Open a list of Runs. Some of the common ways to view the Runs grid are:

    • Open a Test item and select the Runs tab.
    • Click the Runs tab inside a suite run.
    • Navigate to the Runs tab in the Quality module.
  2. In the Runs grid, select one or more runs of the same type. You can select up to ten runs.

  3. Expand the More menu and select Duplicate. The new runs are added to the grid, assigns them new IDs, and their status is set to Planned.

Back to top

Delete items

Items that you delete are deleted along with their children. Relationships from other items to the deleted item are removed too.

Deleted defects are moved to the recycle bin. The deleted defects can be restored from the recycle bin by the workspace administrator. For details, see Restore or delete defects from the recycle bin.

Other items that you delete are permanently deleted, and cannot be restored.

By default, the standard Team Member role does not allow users to delete items.

Best practice: Instead of deleting items, assign obsolete items to a phase that indicates that the items are not in use.

Back to top

Next steps: