Users

When creating your projects, you add users to spaces and workspaces. This topic describes how to manage users in spaces and workspaces.

User management actions

Admins can manage users by adding, editing, or deleting users. You can define users on the following levels:

  • At the space level by the space admin.

  • At the workspace level by the admin for the workspace.

When adding or modifying users, admins must explicitly define the user's workspace. Sharing users between spaces is available in the product's Enterprise edition.

This following table provides an overview of user-related tasks and who can perform them.

User management capability Space admin
Workspace admin
Add users to the current context (site, space, or workspace). For details, see Add or remove users.
Add users to the current context (site, space, or workspace) using the REST API. For details, see POST: Create a user.
Add existing users from the space into the workspace. For details, see Add space users to a workspace.
Remove roles from a workspace user. For details, see Assign and unassign roles.

Choose the fields to display in the user list, sort the list, and export the list to Microsoft Excel.

Assign additional roles to users, activate and deactivate users.

For details, see Roles and permissions.

Back to top

View users and history

You can show all of the users by their roles and workspaces in the User grid view. You can also see all admin actions performed on workspace users, via the History tab.

To view the exiting users and their roles:

  1. Access Spaces area.

  2. Select the Users tab.

    To filter users by roles and workspaces:

    1. In the Users tab, show the Filter pane , and click Add Filter. Select Roles and Workspaces > Role, and select the roles by which you want to filter.
    2. To further narrow down your results by workspaces, click Add Filter again, select Roles and Workspaces > Workspace, and select the workspaces by which you want to filter.
  3. Add or edit users, depending on your role.

    Note: Most roles can be customized. Roles and their permissions might be different for your organization.

  4. Optionally, configure which details to show when you hover over a user's ID. By default, when you hover over a user's avatar, only the email address and chat button are displayed.

    • To modify which contact details to display, enter any of the following values in the USER_DETAILS_BOX_OPTIONS site parameter: email, phone, chat, teams, team_leaders. Use commas to separate between values. For example, to display to only display the email address and phone number, enter email,phone. For details, see Configuration parameters.

    • To disable contact details display, set the USER_DETAILS_BOX_ENABLED site parameter to false.

  5. To view workspace user history:

    1. In the Spaces area, choose a workspace in the tree hierarchy.

    2. In the Users tab, select a user. Click the ID link or choose View Details,

    3. Open the History tab. The tab shows a history of user administration actions of a workspace user, such as CUD actions, deactivation, and role assignments.

Back to top

Add or remove users

This section shows you how to add users to your spaces and workspaces and how to remove them.

Add users

To add a user:

  1. In Settings > Spaces or Settings > Site, choose a space or a workspace in the tree on the left.

  2. On the Users tab, click +.

  3. Enter the user information.

    • If you specify a Login name, the user enters this name to log into ValueEdge. If no login name is specified, the email address is used.

    • Across all workspaces and spaces, log-in names and emails must be unique.

  4. Assign roles to users.

    • Space admins assign roles to the user by workspace.

    • Admins for a workspace can only assign roles to the user for that workspace.

    For details, see Roles and permissions.

  5. Click Add.

  6. If you are a site admin, in the Site area, you can assign a user to be a site admin. Click the user's ID and change the Site admin value to Yes.

  7. To modify an existing user's details, open the Users grid and click the ID of a user, even your own ID. Edit the details. You cannot change your own Login name, but another admin can change that for you.

Delete users

Deleting a user removes the user from ValueEdge.

Space admins can deactivate users temporarily, but not delete them. When a user is deactivated, the user no longer consumes a license. This is especially relevant for the Named License type. For details, see Activate or deactivate a user.

To permanently delete a user on a SaaS deployment: 

  1. The SaaS account administrator must remove the ValueEdge from the user's list of allowed services (if enabled).

  2. The space admin must open a support ticket to SaaS requesting that the user be deleted in ValueEdge.

Back to top

Add existing users to a workspace

You can add existing ValueEdge site users to a space (supported for on-premises only) or workspace.

Add space users to a workspace

You can add existing ValueEdge space users to a workspace.

To add space users to a workspace:

  1. In Settings > Spaces, select a workspace in the tree on the left.

  2. On the Users tab, click Include space users.

  3. Select the users to include.

  4. Click Add.

Back to top

Activate or deactivate a user

Activating and deactivating a user controls whether that user can access ValueEdge and how others interact with that user.

Activate a user The user can log into ValueEdge.
Deactivate a user
  • The user cannot log into ValueEdge if they are not activated in at least one workspace.

  • Other cannot assign items to a deactivated user.
  • ValueEdge cannot send emails to a deactivated user.

Deactivated users still exist in ValueEdge. In addition, references to these users are retained.

We recommend that before you deactivate a user, check what entities assigned to the user and update them as necessary.

Note: When a user is deactivated, it does not consume a license. This is especially relevant for the Named License type.

If you reactivate a user, ValueEdge restores all existing settings for the user.

The Status column in the grid shows you the activation status of the users.

The user is activated.

The user is deactivated.

The user can be activated from the current space or workspace.

Red The user is deactivated. The user can be activated from the site, or the space in which it was originally deactivated.

To activate or deactivate a user:

  1. In Settings > Site > Users or Settings Spaces > space/workspace > Users.

  2. Right-click one or more users, and choose either Activate or Deactivate.

    The Activate option is available on the level in which a user was deactivated. For example, if a user was deactivated at the space level, the user cannot be activated at the workspace level.

  3. Click Yes to confirm.

Back to top

Map ValueEdge users to SCM users

For analysis of SCM commits, identify which users perform the commits and map their ValueEdge user to their SCM user. This enables you to analyze the commit information with ValueEdge tools such as widgets and filters.

If you set up ValueEdge to integrate with a CI server that works with a source control management (SCM) system, ValueEdge tracks changes committed to the SCM system. For details, see Track commits to your SCM system.

If the email address defined for an SCM user is identical to the one defined for an ValueEdge user, the users are mapped automatically when changes they commit are discovered.

Make sure that your SCM system is configured to share commit authors with your CI server. For example, in the Jenkins GIT plugin, set the option User commit author in changelog.

Otherwise, map the users manually.

ValueEdge users can also map themselves to unmapped SCM users listed in the Commits tab. This does not require admin permissions. For details, see Use the Commits tab to track committed changes.

To map an ValueEdge user to an SCM user:

  1. In Settings > Spaces, select the space.

  2. In the Users tab, click in the SCM users cell of a specific ValueEdge user.

    Do one of the following:

    • Select from the list of SCM users known to ValueEdge from previous commits.

    • Click Add New to add an SCM user. Provide the SCM user's username and email address for identification.

Back to top

See also: