Typical sequence

Although there is no set order, the tasks of configuring Deployment Automation elements and deploying artifacts are typically performed in the following order:

Step 1

Create components and set your source configuration type and version import approach. The source configuration type points to the source where the artifacts for a component are stored. You can import the artifacts into Deployment Automation CodeStation automatically or manually.

For details, see Create components.

Step 2

Create and design component processes, defining the processes you want performed on target machines before, during, and after the deployment of component artifacts.

For details, see Create and design component processes.

Step 3

Create resources to represent logical locations on agent machines.

For details, see Create resources.

Step 4

Create environments and assign resources to them.

For details, see Create environments.

Step 5

Create and configure pipelines, sequencing environments and adding approvals.

For details, see Create and configure pipelines.

Step 6

Create an application, selecting the pipeline to use.

For details, see Create applications.

Step 7

Add components to the application.

For details, see Add components to applications.

Step 8

Add environments to the application that are not included in the pipeline and map components to environment resources.

For details, see Map application components to resources.

Step 9

Create and design an application process to control the deployment. An application process typically initiates multiple component processes.

For details, see Create and design application processes.

Step 10

Run the application process to deploy the components.

For details, see Run deployment processes.

Step 11

Create and design deployment packages to run multi-application deployments.

For details, see Create deployment packages.

Back to top

See also: